Gallery: Paper Tigers Catamaran Champions one of the biggest sailing events in shire


Kurnell Catamaran Club is hosting one of the biggest sailing events of the 2015 calendar in Sutherland Shire from April 2 to 6.

The five-day Maersk Line International Paper Tiger Championships with nine races has world-class sailors from Australia and New Zealand.

‘‘These international championships are the pinnacle event for this class of sailing boat,’’ said Paper Tiger Catamaran NSW vice-president Bill Arthur.

The paper tiger is a 4.3 metre, single-handed, two-hulled catamaran that is sailed in in Australia, New Zealand and other countries such as South Africa and Canada. 

See more in Thursday’s Leader.


Celebrating 30 years of making a splash in water sports, the International Paper Tiger Championships will take place on Botany Bay in April.

Kurnell Catamaran Club is running the 30th annual competition this year on behalf of the NSW Paper Tiger Association.

Racing will begin on Thursday, April 2, with the invitation race due to start at 2pm.

On Friday, April 3, heat one starts at 10.30am, and heats two and three will be sailed back-to-back from 1pm.

The same format will happen on Saturday, April 4, for heats four, five and six.

On Sunday, April 5, heat seven will be sailed from 10.30am and heat eight from 1pm. Heat nine will be sailed on Monday, April 6, from 10.30am.

NSW Paper Tiger Catamaran Association (NSWPTCA) vice-president Bill Arthur said New Zealand had dominated twice in the past three years.

‘‘The national teams are represented by the 10 top placegetters in their country’s 2014-15 national championships,’’ he said.

‘‘It is a very busy race schedule with the time for races estimated at about an hour a race; there will be some very tired sailors by the end of the championships.’’

Australia has won the individual title 25 times and the team event 20 times.

‘‘This year’s entry list includes David Shaw (NZ and defending champion), Bryan Anderson, Peter Anderson, Garry Williams, Mark Wiggins, Bruce Rose and Ian Marcovich, all of whom are previous winners of the individual title,’’ Mr Arthur said.

‘‘The stage is set for some classic catamaran racing at Kurnell Catamaran Club over Easter.’’

Mr Arthur said the NSWPTCA would like to thank Kurnell Catamaran Club, MAERSK Line, Ronstan, Sutherland Shire Council, Sharkies Club, Boat Names Australia, PT Masts, Redhead Sails, Godwins Trophies and Mako Eyewear for their support.