NRL draw announced for Sharks and Dragons

Draw released: There will be more games for Kogarah's UOW Jubilee Oval in 2017. Picture: John Veage
Draw released: There will be more games for Kogarah's UOW Jubilee Oval in 2017. Picture: John Veage

The St George Illawarra Dragons will play more home games in Kogarah next season, including their opener against the Penrith Panthers at UOW Jubilee Oval.

The 2017 NRL draw was released today with the Dragons taking on Penrith in their season opener on March 4, while defending champions Cronulla will host the Brisbane Broncos during the opening game of the NRL season on March 2.  

Next season will see the Dragons bring five home games to the St George area, compared to four this year.

Dragons chief executive Peter Doust said they had room to bring an extra game to a suburban ground next season, selecting Kogarah’s UOW Jubilee Oval as the right venue.

“For the benefit of our Red V members and supporters we have determined that the best outcome for everyone in 2017 is to take this additional Sydney game [against the Warriors in round four] to UOW Jubilee Oval, Kogarah, meaning that we will play five regular season home games at this venue in 2017.”

The Dragons other home games will be played at WIN Stadium in Wollongong (four games), ANZ Stadium (two games), and one match at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Cronulla will play all their home games at Shark Park in 2017.

Some of the key fixtures for Cronulla this season include the grand final rematch, against the Storm, in rounds six and 14 as well as the local derby against the Dragons in round three at Cronulla. The two local sides will play each other again in round 10 in Kogarah.

The Dragons will take on old foe the Rabbitohs in round 22 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Dragons 2017 home games:

UOW Jubilee Oval, Kogarah

Round 1 v Penrith Panthers on Saturday March 4 (4.30pm)

Round 4 v New Zealand Warriors on Sunday March 26 (6.30pm)

Round 10 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks on Friday May 12 (6pm)

Round 16 v Newcastle Knights on Sunday June 25 (2pm)

Round 23 v Gold Coast Titans date TBC

WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Round 2 v Parramatta Eels on Sunday March 12 (6.30pm)

Round 7 v North Queensland Cowboys on Saturday April 15 (7.30pm)

Round 9 v Melbourne Storm on Sunday April 30 (4pm)

Round 20 v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles on Sunday July 23 (2pm)

ANZ Stadium

Round 13 v Wests Tigers on Saturday June 3 (3pm)

Round 26 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs date TBC

Sydney Cricket Ground

Round 22 v South Sydney Rabbitohs date TBC

Sharks 2017 home games (all at Shark Park):

Round 1 v Broncos on Thursday March 2 (8.05pm)

Round 3 v Dragons on Sunday March 19 (6.30pm)

Round 5 v Knights on Saturday April 1 (3pm)

Round 8 v Titans on Saturday April 22 (7.30pm)

Round 11 v Cowboys on Thursday May 18 (7.50pm)

Round 12 v Bulldogs on Saturday May 27 (7.30pm)

Round 14 v Storm on Thursday June 8 (7.50pm)

Round 15 v Tigers on Saturday June 17 (7.30pm)

Round 16 v Sea Eagles on Sunday June 25 (4pm)

Round 20 v Rabbitohs on Friday July 21 (7.50pm)

Round 22 v Raiders date TBC

Round 25 v Roosters date TBC