Awards night for Cronulla whompers

The recently crowned Australian champion body surfing club the Bate Bay Body Bashers held their inaugural awards night last month at the  Tattersalls club in the Sydney CBD celebrating their maiden Australian championship win. 

A full member’s dining room comprising of athletes, sponsors, and supporters gathered to acknowledge the title coming across the Captain Cook Bridge for the first time along with individual awards comprising five categories. 

Club President Mat Schweighoffer in his address expressed his excitement for the future of the sport along with the increase in the diversity of the club.

“It is very rewarding to see Whompers & Whompettes (Male and female bodysurfers) of all ages and backgrounds here tonight to celebrate a stellar year in the club’s history. I am really looking forward to what the future holds in terms of the sport and how this club can contribute to the community.” Mat said

Major sponsor and Bodysurfing pioneer Rikki Gilbey, director of Waw Handplanes commented on the significant increase in popularity of the sport and expressed his pride in supporting such an inclusive and proud organisation. 

"As a bodysurfer, I am incredibly proud of the Bate Bay Body Bashers, a group of individual legends, within which, I can share my passion and enthusiasm for the art of bodysurfing. As an official club sponsor, It is a true honour to be associated with officially the greatest bodysurfing team in Australia 2017" 

“Although an ESBS (Eastern Suburbs Body Surfers) member I am grateful for the incredibly warm welcome and inclusion as an honorary member of the club which I feel is a testament to the way the Bate Bay Body Bashers operate as a club.”

The Bate Bay Body Bashers are set to host the 2018 Whomp Off and are looking to go back to back for the first time in the events history. Sunday meetups are generally held on Sunday mornings at 7:30 with people of all levels of experience more than welcome. 

Award and winner listed below

Whomper of the Year 2017: Nick Brbot

Whompette of the Year 2017: Mikaela Milinkovic

Most Improved Whomper 2017: Ugljesa Mihailovic

GIRT award 2017: Harry Richardson

Club Person of the Year 2017: Luke Brbot