Record crowd as Sydney FC win 2019 W-League grand final 4-2 over Perth Glory at Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah

A record crowd for a W-League grand final have seen Sydney FC down Perth Glory 4-2 at Jubilee Stadium on Saturday.

It was Sydney’s imports who stole the show as the Sky Blues won their third championship and first in five years.

A crowd of 6127 made their way to Kogarah on a perfect afternoon for football as Sydney FC finally enjoyed their special day, having lost the last two W-League grand finals.

US import Sofia Huerta gave Sydney the perfect start when she opened the scoring after just six minutes with a rasping drive from distance into the top right hand corner.

Matildas superstar Sam Kerr equalised from the penalty spot for Perth on 23 minutes after Danielle Colaprico had fouled Kerr in the box.

Another US import Savannah McCaskill scored the first of her double four minutes before half-time as Sydney FC regained the lead, McCaskill looping a gorgeous header over Glory goalkeeper Eliza Campbell.

McCaskill had her second just after the hour mark when a loose ball fell to her in the penalty area before she coolly rolled it past Campbell to give Sydney a 3-1 lead.

But Perth refused to quit. They gave themselves a lifeline when Nicole Stanton's corner kick found Alyssa Mautz, who sidefooted the ball past Aubrey Bledsloe's reach on the half volley with a delightful finish.

But just two minutes later Sydney FC finally secured the title with possibly the goal of the game.

A loose ball rolled to the top of the penalty area where Matildas midfielder Chloe Logarzo met it first time with the sweetest of strikes into the top right corner.

The victory capped a special season for Sydney FC and their players, none more so than Sky Blues captain and St George junior Teresa Polias, who was able to live out a dream – to captain her home town club to a W-League title on her home ground.

Leader Scoreboard

W-League grand final

Sydney FC 4 (Sofia Huerta ‘6, Savannah McCaskill ‘41, ‘61, Chloe Logarzo ‘70)


Perth Glory 2 (Sam Kerr p ‘23, Alyssa Mautz ‘68)

at Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah

Crowd: 6127