Steve Smith in, Josh Hazlewood out of Australia's 2019 ICC World Cup squad

Return: Former Australia captain Steve Smith, who played for Sutherland this season, has been chosen in the national squad for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England, starting in June. Picture: John Veage
Return: Former Australia captain Steve Smith, who played for Sutherland this season, has been chosen in the national squad for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England, starting in June. Picture: John Veage

Steve Smith has been chosen in Australia's squad for the 2019 ICC World Cup - but St George quick Josh Hazlewood has been left out.

Cricket Australia released the squads on Tuesday - chosen by the national selection panel - for the World Cup as well as Australia A one-day and four-day squads to tour England.

Former Australia captain Smith has been included after the expiration of his 12-month ban for his role in Australia's now infamous ball-tampering scandal in South Africa last year.

Smith spent the season playing for Sutherland in the NSW Premier Cricket competition before undergoing major elbow surgery. He returned from injury to play in the Indian Premier League Twenty20 competition with the Rajasthan Royals.

But Hazlewood - widely regarded as Australia's premier fast bowler - was left out of the World Cup squad and named in one-day and four-day Australia A touring teams instead after chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said the 28-year-old had "not played at the highest level for some time."

Hazlewood has been recovering from a stress fracture in his back, discovered in January.

St George batsman Kurtis Patterson has also been included in the Australia A squads to play five one-day matches against English county sides and three four-day games against Sussex, England Lions and Australia - which appears to be a straight play-off for spots for the first Ashes Test.

Australia will not name their Ashes squad until after the completion of their final practice match against Australia A in Hampshire on July 26, with the first Test against England in Birmingham starting August 1.

"It is a huge honour and I know this squad is focused on playing a brand of cricket which can help us in our ambition to win another World Cup title," Hohns said.

"We have been extremely pleased with how the ODI squad has been building over the past six months, including the recent series wins in India and against Pakistan in the UAE.

"Steve Smith and David Warner come back into the squad. Both are world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL.

"Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15

"Josh Hazlewood has also been named in the Australia A squad. Having not played at the highest level for some time, we feel this will provide him with the best preparation to get some quality cricket under his belt. Our focus is to have Josh back bowling at his best for the commencement of a big Ashes tour."

Australia's 15-man squad for the World Cup will assemble in Brisbane for a training camp at the National Cricket Centre on May 2.

The training camp will include three practice matches between an Australia XI and a New Zealand XI at Allan Border Field.

Australia opens its World Cup title defence against Afghanistan in Bristol on June 1.

Australia men's World Cup squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria), Usman Khawaja (Queensland), David Warner (NSW), Steve Smith (NSW), Shaun Marsh (Western Australia), Glenn Maxwell (Victoria), Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia), Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia), Pat Cummins (vc) (NSW), Mitchell Starc (NSW), Jhye Richardson (Western Australia), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia), Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia), Nathan Lyon (NSW), Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Australia A men's one-day squad:

Travis Head (c) (South Australia), Matthew Wade (Tasmania), Will Pucovski (Victoria), Peter Handscomb (Victoria), Ashton Turner (Western Australia), Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia), D'Arcy Short (Western Australia), Kurtis Patterson (NSW), Ashton Agar (Western Australia), Michael Neser (Queensland), James Pattinson (Victoria), Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales), Kane Richardson (South Australia), Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A four-day squad:

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania), Marcus Harris (Victoria), Kurtis Patterson (NSW), Will Pucovski (Victoria), Travis Head (vc) (South Australia), Peter Handscomb (Victoria), Matthew Wade (Tasmania), Mitch Marsh (Western Australia), Michael Neser (Queensland), Jon Holland (Victoria), James Pattinson (Victoria), Jackson Bird (Tasmania), Josh Hazlewood (vc) (NSW), Chris Tremain (Victoria)