St George Dragons legend Craig Young to be inducted into NRL hall of fame

St George Dragons legend Craig Young is to be honoured with induction into the NRL's hall of fame.

Young and fellow class of 2019 inductees Stacey Jones, Ruben Wiki and Danny Buderus will be honoured at a ceremony in Sydney on Wednesday night.

The Dragons icon was one of the toughest front-rowers of his generation and joins a number of St George legends in the hall of fame including Ken Kearney, John Raper, Reg Gasnier and Johnny King.

Young made 234 appearances in the famous red V, scoring 11 tries. He also played 20 Tests for Australia and starred on the Kangeroos' 1982 'Invincibles' tour.

Young played for St George from 1977 to 1988, making his debut against Penrith at Kogarah. He played in the 1977 grand final win over Parramatta as a 21-year-old in his rookie season.

He then captained the Dragons to the 1979 title, leading St George to their 15th and final premiership in a 17-13 victory over Canterbury.

Young also led the Dragons to the 1985 grand final defeat to the Bulldogs before retiring in 1988. He became St George coach the following year for two seasons until he was replaced by Brian Smith.

Young became St George Illawarra's recruitment manager in 2003 and saw his son, Dean, help the merged club win their first premiership in 2010.

Young was awarded life membership of the St George Dragons in 1988. He served in the NSW Police Force during his playing career and was named at prop in the NSW Police team of the century in 2008 as rugby league celebrated its centenary year in Australia.

NRL chief executive Todd Greenberg said the four inductees were all worthy recipients of the honour.

"All four of our player inductees will stand proudly alongside the 106 players who they will join in the hall of fame," Greenberg said.

"These are some of the best players of their generations and they will now join the best of the best.

"They each dominated their respective eras and commanded enormous respect. They still do.

"This year's Hall of Fame class is an exceptional one. We will be recognising greatness when our latest class are formally inducted."

Fellow former St George Dragons players Rod Reddy and Michael O'Connor were also nominated but were not selected to join Young in the 2019 class.