St George Cycling Club win state road premiership for fifth consecutive year

St George cyclist Kaarle McCulloch has been part of the club's success this year. Picture: John Veage
St George cyclist Kaarle McCulloch has been part of the club's success this year. Picture: John Veage

Despite several members of St George's team committed to the club's continental team racing overseas, St George still fielded a strong team to win their fifth consecutive teams time trial championship at Singleton.

Racing over 30 kilometres the team of Daniel Gandy, Ben Harvey, Wesley Ho and Thomas Lynch scorched over the course in 39 minutes 55 seconds to win the title for St George.

The team averaged 45 kilometres per hour and finished one minutes and 25 seconds ahead of Manly with Suvelo team from Sydney University a further minute away in third place.

St George, which has won state premierships for seventeen years in a row, is building a strong team capable of stringing together many more titles in the future. Gandy - the youngest in the team - and Harvey have already raced in Asia with the continental team which continues to achieve some incredible results.

The junior team comprising Mac Cyreszko, Jonathon Och, Chris McInnes and Ryland Short also competed well on the day to take second place behind Marconi club in 43:53.

It has been another sensational year for the club with four of their cyclists competing at the World Track Championships with all four returning home with at least one world title.

Kaarle McCulloch displayed the form of her distinguished career winning a gold in the team sprint with Stephanie Moreton, a silver in the Keirin and a bronze in the time trial. It was the fourth world championship she has won in her career.

Ashlee Ankudinoff, the 29-year-old star from St George, has also had an incredible career having won her first world title in 10 years. Apart from winning the gold in the team pursuit, Ankudinoff backed it up with a stunning victory in the individual pursuit.

Cameron Smith, the 21-year-old, has forced his way into the crack Australian team pursuit squad and won his first world title. Smith is now looking towards the Olympics along with his two experienced team mates McCulloch and Ankudinoff.

Amanda Reid continued her stunning form to claim a world title at the Para World Championships and is also setting her sights on the Tokyo Olympic Games next year.

To cap off the year so far two St George junior cyclists - Rohan Hayden-Smith and John Trovas - have qualified to race the World Junior Championships representing Australia for the first time. The pair have been in sensational form and are in solid training with the national team as they close in on the World Championships in Frankfurt starting on August 14.

Club racing is held every Saturday afternoon from 1.30pm on a 3km closed off circuit at Oatley Park.