Two young leaders are finalists in the inaugural Scout of the Year Award

Aaron Tomlins
Aaron Tomlins

Two Sutherland Shire scouts who are NSW members are finalists in the inaugural Scout of the Year Award.

Rover Scouts Aaron Tomlins and Jack Millett (18-25 age group) are among 16 finalists across the state.

Both are from the 1st Caringbah Rover Crew, South Metropolitan Region.

Jack packs trailers on the weekends and participates in working bees. Aaron, who is also a scout leader at 1st Oyster Bay, is one of the first NSW State Transformation Trainers for the New Youth Program. He excels in leadership skills and mentors others, while studying at university.

Jack Millett

Jack Millett

The award recognises a young person who has contributed exceptionally in their community through scouting and has made a considerable impact on one or more of the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals.

Scouts NSW's youth leading adult supporting approach, which is fundamental in guiding leadership principles in today's youth, has seen youth members take an active role in adopting the goals, with the aim of ending poverty, protecting the planet, improving health and well-being, and contributing to a better world.

The Scout of the Year Award is a way to shine the light on their work, all of which is a result of their commitment and dedication.

The winner will be announced on September 28.


Discuss "Shire scouts are state finalists in award first"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.