Oatley's Eliza Martin wins at Young Achiever awards

Oatley resident Eliza Martin has won the prestigious Western Sydney University Academic Achievement Award at the 2020 7NEWS Young Achiever Awards.

The winners were announced on Friday, September 11 during the Online Presentations of Awards in front of an audience of over 300 people. Samantha Brett, 7NEWS Presenter was the MC for the evening.

Eliza, 17 of Oatley has a passion for medical research and innovation.

Eliza's recent project is a long-term treatment for lactose intolerance which she has carried out even though she has still to sit for her HSC.

The treatment has been reviewed by health professionals at the International Science and Engineering Fair in Arizona, USA and placed her 4th in the Biomedical and Health Sciences category.

In 2017, Eliza invented the Electro-Magnetic Mobility Assister (EMMA), a device that uses electromagnets to facilitate movement of legs of bed-bound patients and assists with walking.

In 2018, she received a scholarship to represent Australia at the International Student Science Conference in Venice, Italy.

In 2019, she represented Australia at the World Science Olympics.

Last January, Eliza was named Georges River Council's Young Citizen of the Year at the Australia Day ceremony at Carss Bush Park.

The nine category winners in the Young Achievers Awareds were:

. Lily Harrison, 18 of Corndale - Freemasons of NSW/ACT Community Service Award

. Eliza Martin, 17 of Oatley - Western Sydney University Academic Achievement Award

. Kirby Jayne Barker, 25 of Evans Head - NSW Department of Education Early Childhood Educator Award

. Harpreet Dhillon, 19 of Eastwood - First National Real Estate Leadership Award

. Steven Fordham, 28 of Muswellbrook - TransGrid Indigenous Achievement Award

. Sophie Wills, 21 of Wisemans Ferry - NSW Ministry of Health Healthier Communities Award

. Lily Ferres, 26 of Wilcannia - Aboriginal Education Council Aboriginal Education Award

. Yve Blake, 26 of Sydney - QPRC Performing Arts Award

. Blake Garrett, 21 of Artarmon - Awards Australia Small Business Achiever Award

Steven Fordham was later announced as the 2020 NSW/ACT Young Achiever of the Year, chosen from the nine winners.

Winners each received a trophy, and over $2,500 worth of prizes, made up of a $1,500 Bartercard Trade Account, $1,000 cash from Awards Australia and a $300 voucher from Fly Pelican.

Steven Fordham received an additional $500 for his Bartercard Trade Account and a further $1,000 cash from Awards Australia and an overall winner trophy.

Kirby Jayne Barker, 25 of Evans Head was also announced as the NOVA 96.9 People's Choice Award winner and received $500 worth of concert and movie tickets courtesy of NOVA 96.9.