Porter-Gallen Medal: Will Kennedy is No.1

Recognised: Will Kennedy. Picture: Chris Lane
Recognised: Will Kennedy. Picture: Chris Lane

You could use a plethora of superlatives to describe Will Kennedy's 2021 season.

But all you need to know is this: The form of the Cronulla Sharks fullback has meant new signing - and one of the form players of the competition - Nicho Hynes, is set to fill a role in the halves next year.

Kennedy was this week named winner of the 2021 Porter-Gallen Medal as the Shark player of the year.

The No.1 led the team in tries scored (14, equal with Connor Tracey), line breaks (15) and try assists (14).

His breakout year also saw him win the Tommy Bishop Player's Player Award and the Members Player of the Year, as voted upon by 2021 Sharks Members.

Kennedy - alongside Aaron Woods, Jack Williams, Toby Rudolf, Blayke Brailey and Connor Tracey, were also recognised as the Sharks 'Iron Men' for 2021 at an informal Sharks end of season presentation event held on Monday in their Brisbane hub. The six players featured in every NRL fixture throughout the year.

Ronaldo Mulitalo, the Sharks nominee for the NRL's prestigious Ken Stephen Medal, won the Sharks Have Heart community award.

Mulitalo, a regular visitor to the Sharks supported Skillz4Me program, displayed his passion for giving back to the community when he thanked the Mackay crowd and gifted his boots to a young fan despite suffering a broken jaw. He also connected with a young Sharks fan Conrad, who is battling Leukemia.

Speedster Luke Metcalf won the Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year award.

The 24-year-old played six gams in his debut NRL season and showcased his immense potential with a two-try effort in the 50-20 win over the Wests Tigers.