Socceroos name East Asian Cup squad

Socceroos Head Coach Holger Osieck has named a largely A-League based squad  for the upcoming EAFF East Asian Cup tournament which includes several debutants.

Osieck's provisional squad of 24-players  was released today and  is comprised of 19 players from the Hyundai A-League and five from Asian-based clubs.

Mark Birighitti, Josh Brillante, Mitch Duke, Craig Goodwin, Tomi Juric, Connor Pain, Erik Paartalu and Trent Sainsbury may have the opportunity to make their senior international debuts for the Socceroos at the tournament.

The Socceroos will play against Japan, China PR and Korea Republic.

Veteran striker Archie Thompson may also have the chance to equal Damian Mori’s Socceroos goal scoring record of 29 goals in A-International matches.

Osieck has elected to announce an extra player in a provisional squad of 24 as he is yet to officially hear if a number of players will be formally released to play in the tournament by their clubs.

The Socceroos head coach believes that the clubs, who are part of the East Asian Football Federation, should be embracing the tournament that features the Australians, along with hosts Korea Republic, Japan and China PR.

‘‘The foreign clubs created a lot of problems,’’ said Osieck.

‘‘I understand the games are not FIFA protected but there is a gentleman's agreement between the competing countries that players from the respective leagues should be released to play.

‘‘If you host a tournament like this for me it’s a no brainer that players are released.’’

Of particular note, Australian World Cup qualification hero Josh Kennedy is in doubt as his club Nagoya Grampus is remaining firm on him not playing in the tournament.

 ‘‘Nagoya created a number of problems for us in not releasing Josh Kennedy.

‘‘I had a chat with Stojkovic (Nagoya Grampus's manager) and he agreed to let him play but right away we got a letter from the club denying the release. It's not a good situation and I don't accept it.’’

With the squad only needing to be finalised 24 hours out of from the Socceroos opening match of the tournament, Osieck will be hoping that his Asian-based players are able to join the side for the Socceroos opening match of the tournament.

The Socceroos will arrive in Seoul on Wednesday evening and will play their first match of the EAFF East Asian Cup against the host nation, the Korea  Republic, on Saturday, July 20 (kick-off 8pm AEST).  Their second match of the tournament will be against Japan on Thursday, July 25 (kick-off 8pm AEST) and the final match will be against China PR on Sunday, July 28 (kick-off 6.15pm AEST). 

Socceroos provisional squad for EAFF East Asian Cup

Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk) Newcastle Jets FC

Joshua BRILLANTE Newcastle Jets FC

 Nathan COE (gk) Melbourne Victory FC


Mitchell DUKE Central Coast Mariners FC

 Ivan FRANJIC Brisbane Roar FC

 Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) Adelaide United FC 

Craig GOODWIN Newcastle Jets FC 

Tomi JURIC  Western Sydney Wanderers FC, 

 Josh KENNEDY Nagoya Grampus, JAPAN

 Matt McKay Changchun Yatai FC, CHINA PR

 Ryan McGowan Shandong Luneng Taishan FC, CHINA PR

 Mark MILLIGAN Melbourne Victory FC

 Aaron MOOY Western Sydney Wanderers FC

 Mitch NICHOLS Melbourne Victory FC

 Jade NORTH Brisbane Roar FC

 Connor PAIN Melbourne Victory FC

 Erik PAARTALU Tianjin Teda, CHINA PR

 Trent SAINSBURY Central Coast Mariners FC

 Adam TAGGART Newcastle Jets FC

 Archie THOMPSON Melbourne Victory FC

 Michael THWAITE Perth Glory FC

 Dario VIDOSIC Adelaide United FC

On the ball: Melbourne Victory's Connor Pain (right).

On the ball: Melbourne Victory's Connor Pain (right).

 Ruben ZADKOVICH Newcastle Jets FC.

What do you think of Osieck's squad? Is there enough fresh young talent included?