Dunc Gray hosts Cup

Local cyclists had good results as Sydney's biggest track cycling carnival, the Clarence St Cup, returned to the Dunc Gray Velodrome.

Whilst St George riders were in the mix for the main event; it was Masters world champions, Newcastle clubmates and training partners Ben Neppl and Johnathan Millington who defied the favourites to take a one-two in the men's Clarence St Cyclery Cup on Saturday night.

In front of a roaring crowd, the handicaps were just too big as Neppl edged out Millington with Parramatta's Deren Perry in third.

"To be honest, I'm still shocked," Neppl said after joining Caleb Ewan, Mark Renshaw and Graeme Brown on the honour roll.

" It's such a privilege to go onto that list of World Tour champions and Olympic representatives-It's one of the highest accolades you can get on the track in NSW."

In other events, St George CC won the NSW Elite Team Pursuit Championships.

Daniel Gandy, Rohan Haydon-Smith, Maximilian Cyreszko and Christopher McInnes made short work of Bankstown Sports CC, catching their opponents to take the title.

In the NSW Women's Team Sprint, an ACT team closed out a fast-finishing St George squad of Lizanne Fox, Selina Ho, Georgia Wiltshire to win by 0.31 seconds.

It was also a close finish in the Men's NSW Keirin final when Newcastle's Charles Hofman just hung on to beat Saints hot sprinter John Trovas to the line.

The St George women didn't have the same problem in the motor-paced six-lap race, with Selena Ho and teammate Canadian keirin champion Lizanne Fox fighting right to the line for a one-two finish.

Ho also made an impression but fell short in the Open Women's Clarence St Cup final, again finishing behind winner Meg Marker from South Australia, who had a ten-metre head start.

St Georges Daniel Gandy then stepped up with his mullet haircut still intact and proceeded to show how to win an elimination race-leaving the Men's Elite field in his wake. Teammate Tom Lynch was third in the Rocks brewing company-sponsored event.

Rohan Haydon Smith finished third in the star-studded and competitive NSW Men's Scratch race.

Since 1983, the Clarence St Cyclery Cup is the most sought-after trophy in NSW track cycling, with former champions including Caleb Ewan and St Georges Kaarle McCulloch and Mark Renshaw.

Other big local names to have lifted the Cup include Brett Dutton, Graeme Brown, Ben Kersten, Scott Mills, Nick Yallouris, Tom Lynch and Tom Cornish.

In the women's, three-time winner McCulloch is joined by Rochelle Gilmore and Ashlee Ankudinoff twice.